Recipes: Filipino (Pinoy) Pork BBQ

It was hard to maintain a food blog when one has a food allergy, in my case, it’s wheat. Most of the time, my energy gets expended with trying to find alternatives and substitutes and by the time, I am done preparing meals, I cannot find more within me to take photos and much more blog.

Excuses, right? 😉

Anyway, It has been almost a month since I was diagnosed and am now getting the hang of it. I am actually finding myself inspired to (maybe) use my blog to present recipes or food selection that will aid people with the same problem. It may be beneficial (or not) so here goes my first entry after the diagnosis.

I recently invited friends over to our home for a little BBQ party. This is one of the items I served that night because in the Philippines, having this served on the table is always a treat to the guests. 😀

Ingredients:

2 lbs of lean pork

1 cup soy sauce (or lesser since a cup may be too salty which is what happened in my case)

1 head garlic, minced

1 onion, finely chopped

1/4 cup of calamansi juice or lemon juice

1/2 cup of 7up, sprite or beer (optional)

1 teaspoon ground black pepper

2 tablespoons of brown or white sugar

1/2 cup of banana or tomato catsup (I prefer banana — they use corn starch instead of wheat)

20-30 bamboo skewers

Cooking Instructions:

1. Cut pork meat into thin and long slices – about 1/4 inches thick and less than 2 inches wide. Set aside.

2. In a mixing bowl, combine all the remaining ingredients (excluding the skewers). 😀

3. Add in the pork, mix well and then keep in the fridge for at least 30 minutes. However, I prefer to marinate overnight.

4. An hour before you grill, soak the bamboo skewers in water. This is done to prevent burning the sticks during grilling.

5. Skewer the pork. This is a wonderful time to have a friend over who is willing to help do this. 😉 *thanks Wendy!*

6. Fire up the grill and start grilling. It may take about 5 minutes on each side. Use the marinade to glaze and to prevent it from being too dry (since we are using lean pork).

7. For dipping sauce, I usually just use vinegar with Thai chilies (we call it siling labuyo) and about 2 cloves of garlic.

Tip of the day for Gluten-free cooking: Substitute your regular soy sauce with “San-J Organic Gluten & Wheat Free Tamari Soy Sauce”. I found it in our local grocery store at the Asian/Ethnic aisle. 😀

Enjoy!

P.S. I moved my blog from Tumblr.com to WordPress since I like the WP navigation better. 🙂

2 comments

  1. @Caroline I know, it’s always a hit. 🙂 We started grilling as soon as it hit 50. Minnesotans are crazy. 😀


Leave a Reply

