Recipes: Jap Chae / Chap Chae (Korean Glass Noodles)

Logging about 35 to 40 miles of running weekly, I need to find creative ways to add more carbohydrates (and vegetables) into my diet (or should I say ‘our’ diet since my husband has to eat what I prepare). 😉 If you know me or if you have been a frequent visitor of this blog, you are probably aware by now that pasta and bread are out due to allergies. On the other hand, we are trying to avoid white rice due to its lack of complex carbohydrates. (we are not fan of brown and wild)… That’s when I found Korean Glass Noodles which is made out of sweet potato starch. Perfect. 🙂

Being a Filipino, I can cook pancit bihon with my eyes closed 😉  however, the sweet-sesame flavor of Jap Chae has been haunting me since one of my good friends served that to us years ago. We tried 2 Korean restaurants here in the Twin Cities but both of them failed in satisfying my cravings — with that, I rolled up my sleeves to see if I can recreate that same haunting taste. 🙂

Here’s what came out of my attempt to cook this Korean dish. I hope the Koreans will pardon me if in case I did it entirely wrong. 🙂

Ingredients:

Korean glass noodles (soak in hot water) — should yield about to 2 1/2 cups when soaked

2 cloves of garlic (crushed)

1 medium onion (chopped)

1 medium-sized carrot (sliced like a dime)

1 cup of mushroom of your choice (shiitake was recommended but I used baby Bella) 😀

2 cups of sugar peas (or snow peas)

1 cup of spinach

5 stalks of scallions

1/4 pound of meat of your choice (optional especially if you want a vegetarian dish)

3 – 4 TBSP of soy sauce (I used gluten-free soy sauce)

3  TBSP of  Kikkoman Sweet Cooking Rice Seasoning (if this isn’t available, you can substitute 1/2 tsp. of sugar instead)

1/2 TBSP Sesame oil

1/2 TBSP olive oil (or canola) for sauteing.

Salt and pepper to taste

Red pepper flakes to taste (optional)

Sesame seeds (for topping)

Fried egg (for topping) optional – please prepare this beforehand and please don’t ask me how. 😀

Instructions:

1. Soak the noodles in hot water with sesame oil. Set it aside.

2. Saute garlic and chopped onions until the onions are semi-transparent.

3. Add the meat (if you opt to have it), carrots, soy sauce, water and Sweet Cooking Rice Seasoning. Let it boil and then let it simmer for about 2 minutes.

4. Taste the sauce if it needs salt. Add pepper and the red pepper flakes to taste as well.

5. Add the mushroom and the snow peas. Simmer again for another 3.

6. Add the noodles, spinach and scallions and then give it a quick stir. Let it simmer for another 3 minutes or until the noodles are cooked. (It gets stretchy like rubber bands once cooked).

7.  Top it with fried egg and sesame seeds before serving.

8. Enjoy!  We certainly did!  🙂

Leave a Reply

