Recipes: Ribs and Italian Sausage with Spicy Chipotle Sauce

(Taken using my iPhone because I tweeted about it. This is right before it went into the oven – before step 7 below)

My husband called it “meeting of great minds in celebration of 1 year in our house” while I just told my friends that it’s our 1st anniversary here in our home. 🙂 Yes, we have been in this lovely home for a year now and with that, we invited friends over last Saturday to celebrate it with food, fun, drinks and badminton. 😀

One of the things that we served that day was ‘Ribs and Sausage with Spicy Chipotle and Green Chile Sauce.’ I wasn’t even expecting that that will be a hit (maybe it’s because it’s reminiscent of our own ‘Caldereta‘) hence I didn’t even take a photo of it after it was cooked.  I mentioned it to them as well that I just lifted the recipe from Real Food Magazine which is available for free at our local Lunds and Byerlys stores. I made modifications to it which are highlighted below.

Ingredients:

1 tsp salt (recipe called for 2 but I reduced it by half)

2 tsp freshly ground black pepper

2 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp ground coriander

1 tsp chili powder (recipe called for 2 but I reduced it by half)

6 pounds St Louis style pork ribs (recipe called for beef short ribs)

8 Italian sausage, chopped diagonally about an inch (this wasn’t in the recipe but I added this to mix the flavors of Italian and Mexican altogether)

2 TBSP extra virgin olive oil (evoo)

1 large red onions

5 cloves of garlic (minced)

3 cups chicken stock

2 cups canned whole tomatoes, coarsely chopped

1/2 cup freshly squeezed lime juice (about 2 to 3 limes)

12 chipotle chiles (these chilies are so spicy that I may cut it just 6 the next time I make it)

12 mild green chiles sich as Anaheim or Poblano (seeded and cut inti 1/4 inch thick rounds)

Salt and pepper to taste

Lime juice to taste

Garnishes:

Chopped cilantro

Lime wedges

Shredded Jack cheese (I omitted this)

Store-brought green salsa (I omitted this)

Instructions:

1.  In a small bowl, mix the first five ingredients and then sprinkle the mixture over all sides of your meat. This step can be done a day ahead with the ribs covered and refrigerated or you can proceed with directly with the recipe.

2. Preheat the over to 350 degrees.

3. Heat a large dutch oven with the evoo over medium-high heat. Brown your meat on all sides. It may be necessary to do this in batches to avoid overcrowding. Once done, set them all aside.

4. Reduce the oil (fat) that’s in the dutch oven to about 1 1/2 to 2 TBSP and then reduce the heat to medium. Saute the garlic and onions until the latter is translucent. (about 5 minutes)

5. Add broth and bring to boil, scraping up browned bits. This is when I added the sausages in.

6. Add tomatoes, lime juice, and chipotle chilies. Bring it to a boil before adding back the meat into the pot.

7.  Move the pot into the middle-rack of the preheated oven, baking for about 1 1/2 to 2 hours or until the meat is quite tender.

8. Once tender, remove from the oven. Remove the ribs from the sauce and set aside.

9. Boil the sauce until it becomes syrupy. Reduce the heat and add green chiles and simmer for about 5 minutes. Skim the fat from the surface if there’s any before putting the ribs back into the pot.

10. Taste the dish. Adjust it with salt, pepper and lime juice if necessary. I added 1 TBSP of agave nectar because it was so spicy for my liking. 😀

11. Serve and enjoy! 🙂

The next time I make this, I may consider putting potatoes and carrots to make it more hearty! 🙂

(Prep time: 30 minutes | Cooking time: 2.5 hours – Serves about 10. Make it extra spicy and it will serve over 15 people)  😀

Leave a Reply

